Yooper Flag

The Michigan Yoopers is a social club in The Villages, Florida.

A Yooper refers to anyone with a connection with Michigan's Upper Peninsula.Anyone with a connection to Michigan's Upper Penninsula is welcome to join.  Remember to bring your Villages ID or guest pass to the meeting.

We meet monthly, except in the summer, to get together.

We usually meet at the Savannah Center in the Rhett Butler room on the second Wednesday of the month at 6 pm to 8:50 pm.  

Thanks to all who participated in our “Annual Pasty Dinner” at the February meeting.  As usual the pasties were delicious and filling, and the wonderful variety of desserts provided by members topped off the meal.  

Our next event is the April 12 picnic at Paradise Rec Center at 3 PM.

Thanks to Della Davey a “Yooper 9 Hole Golf Scramble” has been set up.  It will be at Baseline Golf Course.  The date is April 26, 2017.  It will be a shotgun start at 8:00 am.  The cost will be $20 per person. You will need to arrive between 7 and 7:15.  Della is in need of people to help with this event, so please volunteer if you can.  You can talk to her at the meeting.  A minimum of 24 players are needed.  There will be sign up sheets at the meeting.  This also has to be a pre-paid event.You can pay at the March meeting or mail a check to Della.

Keep your calendar clear for our annual picnic coming up on April 12 at 3 PM.  We will hold it at Paradise Recreation again since the location worked well last year.  It is a wonderful way to end the Spring portion of our Yooper Club meeting schedule calendar.

Looking forward to seeing you.

Anyone with a connection to Michigan’s Upper Peninsula, past or present, is welcome to join our club.  Annual dues in 2017 are being raised to $10.00 per person.  For more information, contact Kennie at 386 428-2436.

Club Officers 

President:Kennie Turpening

Vice President:Dennis Luoto

Secretary:Don Junak

Treasurer: Della Davey

Member at Large: Bill Holm

Website:Bruce Mitchell 


Michigan Yoopers Club  The Villages, FL   2017